Well, with all my talk about engineers in politics, I will be looking at getting more involved. In May I accepted a volunteer position with the Ottawa Forests and Greenspace Advisory Committee (OFGAC). This is an committee that advises City Council on matters affecting the forests and greenspaces within the City boundary. We meet once a month, but have many tasks to complete between then. One of the main responsibilities will be to review development plans including Official Plan amendments, Zoning amendments, and subdivision plans. Other responsibilities include community outreach, and sitting on various City committees.

I have learned much about how the city works already, and looking forward to learning more. I have had some training on development reviews, and will help out with maintaining the website: www.ottawaforests.ca . All in all it should be an interesting experience!

